The Style Page: What’s appropriate?

Today Melanie objected to my criticism about Michelle Obama’s choice of a light teal suit and the infamous boob belt for the wreath-laying ceremony at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. How appropriate that Melanie posted her comments on Remembrance Sunday (as it is observed in the UK)!

I do like the decorum that Brits show on Remembrance Sunday, and I wish that we have more of the same.  To me, it’s a sign of respect.  Melanie came around to my point of view after I explained it.  Below Tony Blair’s wife Cherie came under flak for wearing a purple trench coat to Remembrance Sunday services in 2009:

Source: The Style Page: What’s appropriate?

Leave a Reply

