Finding Mr. Righteous

Finding Mr. RighteousFinding Mr. Righteous by Lisa De Pasquale
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I discovered Finding Mr. Righteous through the conservative web site PJ Media. Initially I submitted a request to Fairfax County Public Library to carry it, but there was no follow-up: strange, because I had thought that FPCL would support a local writer (Ms. De Pasquale lives in Northern Virginia). I had to wait the mandatory 6-12 months after publication to submit a request through Interlibrary Loan.

Finding Mr. Righteous is about Ms. De Pasquale’s search for God in the context of the men in her life: Chris the Atheist, Joe the Catholic, John the Evangelical, etc. I looked forward to reading this book, as I thought there would be a spiritual component to the book, but most of the book is about Ms. De Pasquale’s attachments to men who have other women in their lives and won’t commit to her. I wonder why Ms. De Pasquale didn’t go in therapy to try to break this pattern. The spiritual component comes at the end of the book when she has an epiphany about her relationships and her role in them. I won’t give away the ending: that’s for you to read.

This book dredged up my unhappy experiences with men and my feeling insecure and that no one would love me. If Ms. De Pasquale ever revises her book, I could contribute a chapter on Ali the Muslim.

Altogether, Finding Mr. Righteous is a quick read. As I said, the spiritual component comes at the end of the book, and I’m glad that I read it to the end.
View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

