Micellar water

Once a cult beauty item in the U.S., micellar waters can be found everywhere now, including your local CVS or big box store.

Micellar water is often described in a simplistic way, as a “magnet” that lifts off makeup.  Lab Muffin (!) explains the science behind micellar water in a way that is simple (as opposed to simplistic) and accessible to even the lay person.  It surprised me that micellar water is essentially … soapy water.

I’m currently using Vichy Purete Thermale 3-in-1 Step Micellar Solution and Trader Joe’s Next to Godliness Micellar Cleanser & Makeup Remover Towelettes.  Trader Joe’s: believe it!  In reserve, I have Simple Cleansing Micellar Water, which I bought using a manufacturer’s coupon, and micellar water from Italian brand Rilastil, which was a sample that the lady at Bellacara, a  beauty  boutique in the DC area, tossed into my bag.

Trader Joe's Next to Godliness Micellar Cleanser & Makeup Remover Towelettes
Trader Joe’s Next to Godliness Micellar Cleanser & Makeup Remover Towelettes

I use micellar water alone when I’m not wearing a lot of makeup (especially eye makeup).  I apply it with DHC Silky Cotton pads (thanks, Marcia, for introducing me to this).  I don’t like a lot of rubbing or wiping, so when I have a full face of makeup, I do a double cleanse with DHC Deep Cleansing Oil and DHC Face Wash Powder.  Then I’ll moisten a cotton pad with micellar water to pick up any eye makeup residue.