Laneige BB Cushion is not worth the hype or hassle

From Korea, where trends (BB cream, face masks) in skin care begin, comes the latest innovation: BB cushion!

What is BB cushion?  BB Cushion is a sponge that is soaked in foundation. To apply, you press a flat pad (included) in the sponge to pick up the foundation and then press or pat onto your face.

I understand that IOPE, one of Amore Pacific’s brands, was the first to bring out BB air cushion. When I was at the Amore store within Super H mart (see Asian beauty stores in the DC Metro Area), one of the saleswomen patted a bit of IOPE Air Cushion on my hand. She said it replaced primer, foundation, sunscreen, and powder. The finish of IOPE Air Cushion suggested the presence of silicones. It also had a white-ish cast, but then, whitening products are popular in Asia.

As I mentioned, Target has entered the premium skin care market. One of the brands that it is now carrying is Laneige, yet another Amore Pacific brand. Not surprisingly, Laneige has a BB Cushion product.

Laneige BB Cushion

Laneige BB Cushion – target.com

So why do I say that Laneige BB Air Cushion is not worth the hype or hassle?  It is difficult to apply, and it’s hard to know how much foundation to pick up. For the first couple of times that I used, I applied too much: it was obvious to my husband, who joked about it.  Also, the pad doesn’t provide precision in covering spots and other detailed work.  I’ll stick with my IT Cosmetics YSBB™ Your Skin But Better™ CC Cream with SPF 50+ and Beautyblender.

You may purchase Laneige BB Cushion for $34 (taxes & shipping not included) from target.com and Target stores (check online for availability in store – that’s how I found mine)

Leave a Reply

