All Those Christmas Cliches

My husband and I came back from India last Sunday.  It was not a happy occasion.  My mother-in-law passed away late last month, and we went back to perform rites.  Her passing hit me hard: she was the last of our parents to go.

To change the subject, as we were returning to the U.S., I realized that I missed much of the Christmas season! At the Dubai airport (our layover), there were Christmas trees (or should I say “holiday trees”?) and Christmas songs, but any reference or allusion to Christ was suppressed.  When we arrived home on Sunday, December 15, I realized that there were only 10 calendar days to Christmas.

We arrived in the morning.  By the afternoon, I was ready to nap.  I turned on WPFW 89.3 FM to listen to The Great American Songbook, where I heard this song:

That’s what I long for: All Those Christmas Cliches.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to my loyal readers.

Leave a Reply

