My money or my life, Part 2

In last week’s post, I wrote that I’d discuss my end-of-the-month evaluation of my spending.   I was to review my spending and answer the following 3 questions:

  • Did I receive fulfillment, satisfaction and value in proportion to life energy spent?
  • Is this expenditure of life energy in alignment with my values and life purpose?
  • How might this expenditure change if I didn’t have to work for a living?

Life energy is yet another YMOYL concept. Life energy is the unit of time you trade for earning money. YMOYL recommends deducting all work-related expenses (commuting, clothing) from your pay to compute your real pay; at the same time, it recommends adding hours for activities such as getting ready, commuting, decompressing after work to your actual work hours.  The results are pretty depressing, aren’t they?

I evaluated my spending by answering the three questions, and here are my findings:

  • There’s not a lot of wiggle room with respect to housing and utilities.
  • My spending on what I call “adornment – beauty” is about where I want it: to account for my monthly visits to the salon
  • My spending on eating out is out of proportion to the amount I trade my life energy for.  I’ll work to reduce eating out expenses this month.

My husband and I went on a Labor Day weekend road trip to visit Frank Lloyd Wright’s Fallingwater in Pennsylvania.  We had also made reservations to see Kentuck Knob, another Wright home.  However, we discovered that Shanksville was nearby, and skipped the trip to Kentuck Knob to go to the Flight 93 National Memorial.

It is said that people get more happiness and satisfaction from experiences than from things: although my husband might disagree, as he loves to spend money on decorating the home!   I derive happiness and satisfaction and memories from travel and shared experiences.

Leave a Reply

